Nursery & Reception Classes (Early Years Foundation Stage)

The Foundation Stage is a distinct phase of Early Years education that takes place from when a child is born until he or she is five. The curriculum for the Early Years Foundation Stage should underpin all future learning by supporting, fostering, promoting and developing each child in the seven areas of the curriculum. These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Communication and Language
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

For more information about stages of development in the early years, please click here



Information about your child’s achievements can be accessed via Tapestry; you should receive log-in details shortly after your child starts in Nursery or Reception.  Please interact with the staff via Tapestry, we very much welcome your feedback and observations, and the chance to celebrate what your child has achieved out of school.

Log into Tapesty: Online learning journal

Please click below for Tapestry information:


Growth Mindset



Phonics is a way of teaching children how to read and write. It helps children hear, identify and use different sounds that distinguish one word from another in the English language.


Websites – learning

These are some of the websites the children use in school – have a go at home!


Websites – information